Environmental Political Purpose Awards nominees announced

Nature 2030 has unveiled the shortlist for the first ever ceremony aimed at recognising politicians with climate impact.

people near Big Ben in London

The awards will be held at the House of Lords, Westminster on 20th September, and honour policymakers efforts at overcoming environmental issues over the last 12 months. 

Among the shortlisted names are London Mayor Sadiq Khan and departing Green Party MP Caroline Lucas. Both received nominations in multiple categories. 

Awards include Wildlife Protection, Pollution Waste & Air, Marine Environment Protection, Habitats Biodiversity & Green Space, and Green Energy & Renewables. A Lifetime Achievement Award will also be announced on the night. 

Organisations including Greenpeace, Oceana, CPRE and Born Free Foundation were consulted in the nomination process. Campaigners and journalists were also involved in finalising the shortlist. 

‘The [event] showcases some of the UK’s hardest working and most dedicated politicians, who have each gone above and beyond their roles to campaign for important environmental issues,’ said Dominic Dyer, of Nature 30. 

‘By highlighted the fantastic work of these politicians we hope to inspire their present and future colleagues to step up and follow their lead by working hard on environmental issues,’ he continued. 

The full shortlist is as follows: 

Wildlife Protection

Henry Smith MP 

Lord Zac Goldsmith of Richmond Park 

Angela Richardson MP 

Mairi MacAllan MSP

Baroness Sue Hayman of Ullock 

Marine Environment Protection

Luke Pollard MP

Lord Richard Benyon 

Lord Tom Watson of Wyre Forest 

Mark Drakeford MS 

Jim McMahon MP

Pollution, Waste and Air 

Baroness Jenny Jones of Moulescombe 

Mayor Marvin Rees

Mayor Sadiq Khan 

Barry Sheerman MP

Fleur Anderson MP 

Habitats, Biodiversity and Green Spaces

Lord Ewen Camaron of Dillington 

Baroness Kathryn Parminter 

Caroline Lucas MP 

Mayor Sadiq Khan 

Green Energy and Renewables 

Chris Skidmore MP

Dr Alan Whitehead MP

Ed Milliband MP 

Caroline Lucas MP

Phillip Dunne MP 

More on environmental awards: 

Leeds City Council decarbonisation scheme celebrated for cutting fuel poverty

Recycling, reuse and circular projects dominate Eco-I NW Awards

Ashden Awards for climate solutions reveals 2023 shortlist

Green Gown Awards 2023 nominations open

Image: Heidi Fin


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Help us break the news – share your information, opinion or analysis
Back to top